Soham Comrades Brass Band

Soham Brass Band taken on 26th June 1867Soham Comrades Band was officially formed in 1921 with the amalgamation of the Excelsior Prize Band and the Town Band. The first bandmaster was Mr Fred.J.Talbot, who was to hold the post for around fifty years. Under his leadership the band won many major competitions, including the "Champions of East Anglia", which the band has, to date, won on fifteen occasions. No other band has held this title as many times. An honorary membership of the London College of Music was awarded to Mr Talbot, for his services to music, in 1966. Mr Talbot retired in 1974.

In 1980 Mr Ray Boulter, the then principal cornet player with the band, lay down his cornet to become the new bandmaster. Under his leadership the band qualified for the 1984 finals of the Third Section of the National Brass Band Championships of Great Britain and was subsequently promoted from 3rd to 2nd Section.
Mr Andrew Keirl was appointed as Musical Director in 1992 and took the band to runners-up position in the Championship Section at the annual Cambridgeshire Championships in 1992 and 1993 and outright winners in 1994 and 1995. Under Paul Filby's direction the band retained the title in 1996,1997,1998 and 1999.
Soham Comrades Band has been a Championship section band since 1999 and are currently the only Championship section band in the Cambridgeshire area
Undoubtedly East Anglia's most successful brass band, Soham Comrades Band performs a varied programme of music at venues all over the region, whilst constantly looking to the future to ensure the bands continued success.
In 1994 Soham youth band was formed under the leadership of Musical Director Diane Pannell and following her retirement as Musical Director in 1998 was succeeded by Robin Norman, and by Ken Ellis in 1999.

Google Translate


We have 881 guests and no members online