CJR Fyson & Sons

iq Option kostenlose Demo The Fyson Six-Sailed Windmill

Fyson Six Sailed Windmill
The unique six sailed windmill, which stood for a hundred years in Fyson's yard in Paddock Street and provided power for the workshop.

The Fyson factory was famous in the town for its own unique landmark. A six-sailed mill built by Fyson’s in their yard from scraps of timber and engine parts stood above the surrounding landscape, and acted as a permanent advertisement for the business. The windmill was used for many years to power the workshop machinery. It is still remembered by several Soham residents.
The first Fyson engine was produced in 1894 and the last in 1924. The component parts for the last engine were ordered in 1921 and it was registered in 1924. We have to believe that none of the Fyson engines actually survived their hard working lives. The majority of them were scrapped in the early 1950’s when modern farming methods were introduced.

Gehen mit grünen binären Optionen Sunday School Treat

Fyson T10 Baptist Sunday School Treat 1923
The Annual Baptist Sunday School Ride on the Fyson T10 Steam Engine

For regular attendances at Sunday schools the annual treat was eagerly awaited. For those who attended the Baptist Church in Clay Street, a tour around the town in open top waggons, drawn by a Fyson engine was especially rewarding. The Superintendent of the Sunday school was Mr Richard Fyson, owner of the engine pictured here in about 1923. Believed to be a Fyson T10, the engine is being driven through Soham High Street by John Robert Fletcher and steered by Frank Fletcher.
The children enjoyed a five mile trip starting at the Baptist Chapel on Clay Street taking in The Piece and The Cotes, and then on to the house near ‘The Toll’ where there would be a glass of milk or lemonade for everyone. The journey home was along the Ely Road and through the High Street finishing at Fair Field in Gardeners Lane. A special tea was then served in the barn, which at the time stood opposite the Recreation Ground gates. The water from the engine boiler was used to supply the hot water for making tea. After tea there were games in the field and sometimes, during the evening, Mr Richard Fyson would fill some large balloons with hot air and let them go, causing great amusement for all.

Login

Google Translate

enfrdeitptrues

We have 25 guests and no members online